Lori Springs
Department of Mathematics

Math department announces award winners

Mon, 07/22/2013

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas mathematics department recognized its undergraduate and graduate students and faculty for outstanding academic and teaching achievements at its 56th annual honors banquet earlier this spring at the KU Adams Alumni Center. 

This year the math department presented $88,750 in awards and scholarships. Award winners are announced in the spring. Scholarship recipients will be announced in the fall. Funds for the awards and scholarships are administered through the KU Endowment Association.

Two students received certificates and Jayhawk statues from the Kansas Algebra Program for their outstanding contributions to teaching, tutoring and extra duties. Winners were Meghan Park, of Overland Park, and Zach Zwibelman, of Leawood.

KU's math department annually recognizes outstanding graduate students.

Lucas Chaffee, Kirkland, Wash., received the Florence Black Award for Excellence in Teaching by a graduate student. The award was established in memory of Black, a faculty member who served from 1918 to 1960.

Jarod Hart, Hortonville, Wis., received the John Bunce Award. The Bunce award commemorates a KU math professor who served from 1970 to 1991 and his extraordinary concern for the welfare and intellectual development of graduate students. 

Mohamed Badawy, of Lawrence, Daniel Harnett, Coffeyville, and Mingji Zhang, China, received the Paul F. Conrad Graduate Scholarship. This award is given in his memory. Conrad was the first Henry J. Bischoff Professor of Mathematics.

Coung Ngo, Vietnam, received the Ralph Byers Student Award, which commemorates a KU math professor who served from 1987-2007.  The award is presented to an outstanding graduate student in numerical analysis.

Jeremy Martin, associate professor of mathematics, received the G. Baley Price award for Excellence in Teaching, presented by the Mathematics Graduate Student Organization. This award is given to a faculty member who displays the greatest ability and effectiveness in teaching graduate math courses.

Martin also received the Morrison Foundation Teaching Award. This award was established in 2008 by the Don and Pat Morrison Foundation to recognize outstanding teaching in mathematics.

David Lerner, professor of mathematics, received the Max Wells Teaching Award, in recognition of outstanding or exemplary teaching in the field of mathematics by a KU faculty member in mathematics.

Finally, this was the 31st year of the annual mathematics prize examinations given by the mathematics department. This competition is open to all undergraduates at KU. The winners of the Junior Level Prize Competition were Christopher Mayo, Clay Center, for first place; Robert Winslow, Olathe, for second place, and Yuanxiang Feng, Lenexa, for third. Mayo also won the top freshman award. The winners for the Senior Level Prize Competition were Bryan Harris and Hao Wang, China, tied for first place; and CJ Harries, Wichita, and Michael Agre, Overland Park, tied for third. 

When looking to tackle the issue of obesity in rural America, where should we start? The answer is not what you might think. Empathy, says Christie Befort, an associate professor at KU who has just won a $10 million award from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute to investigate solutions to rural obesity. Many physicians are embarrassed talking about weight—especially in a small town where everybody knows each other, Befort says. By providing obesity treatment options in rural primary care, she plans to start a conversation, and maybe a revolution, in rural health care. For more details on Befort's efforts, check out the 2015 Chancellor's Report: and her video: Tags: #KUcommunities #Obesity #Health #Rural #Midwest Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute - PCORI

Whistling the night away. #exploreKU shot by saamanthathomas on insta.
Explore KU: Experience a KU Men's Basketball tradition It’s explosive. It’s dramatic. It’s intimidating. It’s a KU tradition (see more at simply known as the Confetti Toss. But it creates a primal eruption of fan enthusiasm at the opening of every KU men’s basketball game at Allen Fieldhouse. It starts as the visiting team is introduced on court. The KU student section is visibly bored and unimpressed. The entire section under the north basket holds up University Daily Kansans — making the point they’d rather read the newspaper than even look at the other team. They shake and rustle the student newspapers. Then the moment they were waiting for arrives — the Jayhawks enter the court. All Rock Chalk breaks loose. Newspapers, confetti and thousands of thundering voices soar into already charged atmosphere of KU’s hallowed basketball arena. The confetti hits its high point, near the banner on the north wall reading “Pay Heed, All Who Enter: Beware of the Phog.” And the confetti rains back into the stands, onto the court and into the memories of all at hand. It’s time to play.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
46 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times