Deadline Credit/No Credit
Oct. 06, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 11, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 12, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 13, All day
Fall Break
Oct. 14, All day

Volleyball vs. Kansas State
Oct. 01, 06:30 pm
Soccer vs. Oklahoma St.
Oct. 03, 07:00 pm
Volleyball vs. Texas
Oct. 05, 01:00 pm
Soccer vs. Missouri St.
Oct. 05, 01:00 pm
Late Night in the Phog
Oct. 10, 06:30 pm

Kansas Law Enforcement Center announces October graduates

Fri, 11/08/2013

YODER – Hutchinson Community College President Ed Berger congratulated 47 new law enforcement officers during their graduation from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on Oct. 4.

The new officers were members of the 225th basic training class at the center. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Continuing Education.

The graduates, who began their training June 24 represented 33 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in the 14-week basic training program. The center offered continuing education and specialized training to as many as 5,600 Kansas officers each year. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state’s general revenue are used to operate the center.

Graduates from the area as as follows. They are listed alphabetically by city.

  • Andover Police Department; Natasha Ward; patrol officer; Andover
  • Beloit Police Department; Jesse Mudd; patrol officer; Beloit
  • Burlington Police Department; Brandi Charlton; patrol officer; Burlington
  • Chanute Police Department; Jeremy Roberts; patrol officer; Chanute
  • Thomas County Sheriff’s Office; Mark Walker; deputy; Colby
  • Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office; Beau Hamlin; deputy; Columbus
  • Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office; Christopher Wren; deputy; Columbus
  • Derby Police Department; Courtney Billinger; patrol officer; Derby
  • Derby Police Department; Melissa Harmes; patrol officer; Derby
  • Dodge City Police Department; Elyse McGinnity; patrol officer; Dodge City
  • El Dorado Police Department; Syndee Scribner; patrol officer; El Dorado
  • Emporia Police Department; Jason Webb; patrol officer; Emporia
  • Florence Police Department; Bronson Shipman; Chief; Florence
  • Frontenac Police Department; Travis Buck; patrol officer; Frontenac
  • Hoisington Police Department; Bryan Horton; patrol officer; Hoisington
  • Holcomb Police Department; Diego Mancillas; patrol officer; Holcomb
  • Stanton County Sheriff’s Department; Mitchell Grover; deputy; Johnson
  • Geary County Sheriff’s Department; Nathan Clement; deputy; Junction City
  • Geary County Sheriff’s Department; Alyson Fisher; deputy; Junction City
  • Junction City Police Department; Joseph Lynch; patrol officer; Junction City
  • Geary County Sheriff’s Department; Derrick Warnecke; deputy; Junction City
  • Geary County Sheriff’s Department; Trevor Schulte; deputy; Junction City
  • Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Department; Keona Ballard; deputy; Kansas City
  • Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Department; Shardale Brown; sergeant; Kansas City
  • Leavenworth Police Department; Cole Brummer; patrol officer; Leavenworth
  • Leavenworth County Sheriff’s Office; Matthew Indermuehle; deputy; Leavenworth
  • Leavenworth Police Department; Brandon Mitchell; patrol officer; Leavenworth
  • Leavenworth Police Department; Sean Swisshelm; patrol officer; Leavenworth
  • Harvey County Sheriff’s Department; Joshua Lebeda; deputy; Newton
  • Oakley Police Department; Alison Hargitt; patrol officer; Oakley
  • Ottawa Police Department; Chad Berg; patrol officer; Ottawa
  • Ottawa Police Department; Casey Gillmore; patrol officer; Ottawa
  • Miami County Sheriff’s Office; Eric Lester; deputy; Paola
  • Park City Police Department; Brandon Green; patrol officer; Park City
  • Rose Hill Police Department; Michael Crowe; patrol officer; Rose Hill
  • Russell Police Department; Travis Peck; patrol officer; Russell
  • St. Marys Police Department; Mark Lamberson; patrol officer; St. Marys
  • Saline County Sheriff’s Office; Bryan Cox; deputy; Salina
  • Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office; Mark Ringer; deputy; Syracuse
  • Sumner County Sheriff’s Office; Casey Allison; deputy; Wellington
  • Sumner County Sheriff’s Office; Christopher Coon; deputy; Wellington
  • Sumner County Sheriff’s Office; Christian Moran; deputy; Wellington
  • Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office; Eric Martens; deputy; Westmoreland
  • Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office; Kegan Rawhouser; deputy; Westmoreland
  • Woodson County Sheriff’s Office; Eric Wright; deputy; Yates Center.

Travel to New York and perform on one of the greatest stages in the nation? KU's Wind Ensemble did just that. In March 2013, the University of Kansas Wind Ensemble made the trip of a lifetime to perform the world premiere of composer Mohammed Fairouz’s Symphony No. 4, In the Shadow of No Towers at Carnegie Hall. Tags: University of Kansas Wind Ensemble KU School of Music Carnegie Hall #KUdifference #music #symphony
Journey to Carnegie Hall
One of America’s most esteemed concert bands, the University of Kansas Wind Ensemble, came to Carnegie Hall to introduce a commissioned work with the potential to resonate well beyond the usual college circuit... - New York Times review

Terrorism has restricted some immigration in Europe, but #KUresearch finds humanitarian ideals remain.
Boy with autism benefits from KU student’s undergraduate research Two-year-old Mark’s first haircut in a salon was pretty traumatic. He screamed. He cried. His dad had to restrain him – Mark has autism and a haircut wasn’t part of his routine. But there’s a happy ending. The experience led KU senior Kristin Miller to seek an Undergraduate Research Award (see to develop ways for children with developmental disabilities like Mark to learn how to accept routine health care treatment, such as going to the dentist — or even getting a buzz cut. Watch the video to see why it has been especially rewarding for Miller to help children like Mark.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
1 of 9 public universities with outstanding study abroad programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
46 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
$260.5 million in externally funded research expenditures
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times