Lisa Webster
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center announces July graduates

Tue, 07/29/2014

YODER – Ottawa Police Department Chief Dennis Butler congratulated 57 new law enforcement officers during their graduation from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) Friday, July 11.

The new officers were members of the 229th basic training class at the center. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Continuing Education.

The graduates, who began their training March 31, represented 39 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in the 14-week basic training program. The center offered continuing education and specialized training to as many as 5,600 Kansas officers each year. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state’s general revenue are used to operate the center.

Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by county.

Allen County

Iola Police Department; Ben Biggs; patrol officer; Iola

Butler County

Butler Community College Public Safety Department; Leslie Jimerson; patrol officer; El Dorado

Butler County Sheriff’s Office; Craig Sammartano; deputy; El Dorado

Cherokee County

Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office; Noble Dobkins; deputy; Columbus; Cherokee County


Cloud County

Concordia Police Department; Jeffrey Sacco; patrol officer; Concordia

Ellis County

Ellis County Sheriff’s Department; Katelyn Jurgensen; deputy; Hays

Fort Hays State University Police Department; Nathaniel McComas; patrol officer; Hays

Harvey County

Newton Police Department; Brandon Deck; patrol officer; Newton; Harvey County

Newton Police Department; Luke Winslow; patrol officer; Newton; Harvey County

Ottawa Police Department; Nicholas Goodwin; patrol officer; Ottawa; Franklin County

Dodge City Police Department; Andres Guerrero; patrol officer; Dodge City; Ford County

Finney County Sheriff’s Office; Daniel Ramirez; deputy; Garden City; Finney County

Leavenworth County

Leavenworth Police Department; Derek Eveland; patrol officer; Leavenworth

Leavenworth Police Department; Sean Fisher; patrol officer; Leavenworth

Leavenworth Police Department; Ian Hall; patrol officer; Leavenworth

Leavenworth Police Department; Sarah Moreno; patrol officer; Leavenworth

Leavenworth County Sheriff’s Office; Stephen Tuttle; deputy; Leavenworth

Lyon County

Emporia Police Department; Billie Schulz; patrol officer; Emporia

Miami County

Miami County Sheriff’s Office; Mitchell Talley; deputy; Paola

Mitchell County

Beloit Police Department; Brian Culpepper; patrol officer; Beloit

Montgomery County

Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office; Clinton Dunham; deputy; Independence

Neosho County

Neosho County Sheriff’s Department; Kyle Shultz; deputy; Erie

Chanute Police Department; Brent Wright; patrol officer; Chanute

Pottawatomie County

Wamego Police Department; Cory Manning; patrol officer; Wamego

Reno County

Hutchinson Police Department; Jesse Flint; patrol officer; Hutchinson

Hutchinson Police Department; Dustin Greene; patrol officer; Hutchinson; Reno County

Rice County

Rice County Sheriff’s Department; Matthew Hastings; deputy; Lyons

Rooks County

Rooks County Sheriff’s Department; Taylor Ganoung; deputy; Stockton

Rush County

Rush County Sheriff’s Office; Marshall Broberg; deputy; La Crosse

Saline County

Salina Police Department; Michael Baker; patrol officer; Salina

Saline County Sheriff’s Office; Benjamin Bett; deputy; Salina

Salina Police Department; Samuel Riffel; patrol officer; Salina


Bel Aire Police Department; Justin Camplin; patrol officer; Bel Aire

Bel Aire Police Department; Joshua Elpers; patrol officer; Bel Aire

Valley Center Police Department; Matthew Trelow; patrol officer; Valley Center

Seward County

Seward County Sheriff’s Department; Allan Kirk; deputy; Liberal; Seward County

Shawnee County

Kansas Highway Patrol; Mary Deseck; patrol officer; Topeka

Kansas Highway Patrol; Joshua Franco; patrol officer; Topeka

Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office; Ryan Ladner; deputy; Topeka

MTAA Police & Fire Department; Christopher Ortega; patrol officer; Topeka

Sumner County

Sumner County Sheriff’s Office; Justin Bauerle; deputy; Wellington

Sumner County Sheriff’s Office; Colin Crosby; deputy; Wellington

Oxford Police Department; Stanley Richey; patrol officer; Oxford

Thomas County

Thomas County Sheriff’s Office; Aaron Schriner; deputy; Colby

Wabaunsee County

Wabaunsee County Sheriff’s Office; Allen Cottone; deputy; Alma; Wabaunsee County


Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Department; Danica Baird; deputy; Kansas City

Kansas City Public Schools Police Department; Bernadette Bayless-Rios; patrol officer; Kansas City

Kansas City Kansas Community College Campus Police; Robert Blanchard; patrol officer; Kansas City

Kansas City Public Schools Police Department Ernest Greene; patrol officer; Kansas City

Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Department; Jonathan Hainje; deputy; Kansas City.

Travel to New York and perform on one of the greatest stages in the nation? KU's Wind Ensemble did just that. In March 2013, the University of Kansas Wind Ensemble made the trip of a lifetime to perform the world premiere of composer Mohammed Fairouz’s Symphony No. 4, In the Shadow of No Towers at Carnegie Hall. Tags: University of Kansas Wind Ensemble KU School of Music Carnegie Hall #KUdifference #music #symphony
Journey to Carnegie Hall
One of America’s most esteemed concert bands, the University of Kansas Wind Ensemble, came to Carnegie Hall to introduce a commissioned work with the potential to resonate well beyond the usual college circuit... - New York Times review

A #KUprof is working to get mobile phones to identify disease-spreading insects.
University of Kansas Homecoming Parade 2014 The University of Kansas celebrated its 102nd Homecoming, "Roll with the 'Hawks,'" Sept. 21-27, 2014. Watch the video to see highlights from some of the week's activities, and from Friday's Homecoming Parade and pep rally featuring our Grand Marshal and KU Alumnus, Rob Riggle. Rock Chalk!

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
1 of 9 public universities with outstanding study abroad programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
46 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
$260.5 million in externally funded research expenditures
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times