Jennifer Jackson Sanner
KU Alumni Association

KU to honor 52 high school seniors from Linn, Miami counties

Thu, 01/28/2016

LAWRENCE — Students from six Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Feb. 10, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 52 seniors from high schools in Linn and Miami counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at Jayhawk-Linn High School, 14675 Kansas Hwy 2, Mound City.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.

During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary and a commemorative certificate.

Ken Audus, dean of pharmacy at the University of Kansas, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Geri Hartley and Jeff Dasenbrock serve as site coordinators and Linn and Miami County coordinators.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2016 scholars:




Jayhawk-Linn High School

Shyla Coffel - Mound City

Shelby Northcutt - Mound City

Lauren Sluder - Blue Mound

Allison Wakefield - Mound City


Pleasanton High School

Chelsea Cox - Pleasanton

Sydney Dent - Pleasanton


Prairie View High School

Bayleigh Boone - La Cygne

Maggie Brown - La Cygne

Jesika Callahan - La Cygne

Madison Gray - Amoret

Rachel Howard - Amsterdam

Kallie Konitzer - Pleasanton

Trent Phelps - La Cygne

Maggie Voigts - Greeley




Louisburg High School

Abigail Bergman - Louisburg

Benjamin Brummel - Louisburg

Michael Huffman - Louisburg

Jacob Mitchell - Louisburg

Makenzie Richardson - Louisburg

Spencer Rogers - Louisburg

Megan Roy - Louisburg

Lillian Scott - Louisburg

Cate Stambaugh - Louisburg

Jennifer Straub - Bucyrus

Madison Turner - Drexel

Hogan Welch - Louisburg


Osawatomie High School

Allyson Bence - Osawatomie

Laurel Bush - Osawatomie

Riley England - Osawatomie

Briona Fields - Osawatomie

Ashley Hay - Osawatomie

Josephine Johnson - Parker

Zealia Kleitz - Rantoul

Delaney Madden - Osawatomie

Haley McDougal - Osawatomie


Paola High School

Courtney Bardwell - Paola

Paul Copeland - Paola

Samantha Dyer - Paola

Rylie Edwards - Paola

Linda Flores - Paola

Rebekah Hadle - Paola

Eric Haefele - Paola

Brian Jensen - Paola

Morgan Laudan - Osawatomie

Justin Salisbury - Paola

Meghan Schasteen - Paola

Delaney Taylor - Paola

Hunter Thomas - Paola

Tanner Thomas - Paola

Emma Ure - Paola

Taylor Williams - Paola

Amanda Wood - Paola.

“To everyone reading; take some free time, grab a cup of joe, and explore our beautiful home on the hill. You never…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today