Jennifer Jackson Sanner
KU Alumni Association

KU to honor 22 high school seniors from Cloud, Jewell, Mitchell, Republic counties

Tue, 02/16/2016

LAWRENCE — Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Monday, Feb. 22, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 22 seniors from high schools in Cloud, Jewell, Mitchell and Republic counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the Beloit Country Club, 3167 Hallie Trail, Beloit.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.

During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary and a commemorative certificate.

Mary Klayder, associate director of undergraduate studies at the University of Kansas, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Michele Heidrick, of Beloit, is the site coordinator and the Cloud County and Mitchell County coordinator. Cathy Dauner, of Mankato, is the Jewell County and Republic County coordinator. Beverly James, of Beloit, is a program coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2016 scholars are:



Concordia High School

Taylor Lagasse - Concordia

Karijanna Miller - Concordia

Connor Reynolds - Concordia

Joshua Timme - Concordia

Colby Trost - Concordia


Glasco High School

Jaiden Buller - Glasco


Miltonvale High School

Kyle Fowler - Miltonvale




Rock Hills High School

Lexis Jeffery - Burr Oak

Allison Railsback - Mankato




Beloit High School

Remington Behrends - Beloit

Evan Brandt - Beloit

Noah Marozas - Beloit

Bryce Nichols - Beloit

Michaela Pingel - Beloit

Hailey Princ  - Beloit


St. John's High School

Megan Bates - Beloit


Tipton Catholic High School

Garrhett McKain - Tipton




Pike Valley High School

Dawson Carlgren - Courtland

Santana Reeves - Courtland


Republic County High School

Tucker Allen - Haddam

Lanessa Aurand - Belleville

Heyley Bauer - Narka.

KU in the news
#KUgrads , get ready to walk down the Hill!

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today