Kathy Rose-Mockry
Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity

Women's Recognition Banquet to honor outstanding students, staff

Tue, 04/25/2017

LAWRENCE — The Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity will host the Women’s Recognition Banquet at 6:30 p.m. today, April 25, at the Kansas Union Ballroom. KU will recognize outstanding faculty, staff and students at this annual event in addition to previously announced Kansas Women’s Hall of Fame honorees.

"This year's honorees have made important contributions that have enhanced and transformed our campus and communities," said Kathy Rose-Mockry, center director. "By celebrating and supporting women's talents and accomplishments, we provide role models and inspiration, paving the way for others to follow while also making a statement that these contributions matter."

Honorees are as follows:

Outstanding Woman Educator

Carolina Costa Candal, doctoral student in political science from Coruna, Spain.

This award recognizes a woman-identified professor, instructor or student teaching assistant who, through outstanding teaching skills, has contributed to the academic and personal growth of KU students.

Outstanding Woman Staff Member

Vanessa Delgado, assistant director of the Student Involvement & Leadership Center; coordinator, Center for Sexuality & Gender Diversity from El Paso, Texas.

This award recognizes a woman-identified unclassified or classified staff member who, through outstanding work performance, has contributed to the academic and personal growth of KU students.

Outstanding International Woman Student

Mariana Madelen Vasquez Sanchez, senior in physics and mathematics from La Paz, Bolivia

This award recognizes a woman-identified undergraduate or graduate student from a country other than the United States who has demonstrated academic achievement and has made a contribution to the campus and/or community through her involvement.

Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership
Mercedes Bounthapanya, senior in mathematics from Emporia

This award recognizes a woman-identified student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills by taking an active role in campus or community organizations, developing a new project or addressing a current need.

Gender Equity in Action Award
Ann Sasala, doctoral student in women, gender & sexuality studies from Parma, Ohio

An undergraduate or graduate student of any gender who has made significant contributions to gender equity on the KU campus.

Sally Mason Women Students in Science Award (group)
Eilish Gibson, Perry,  junior in physics and classical antiquities

Emmaline Lorenzo, junior in chemistry, math and philosophy from Leawood

Kathryn Brewer, junior in chemistry from Overland Park

Marilyn Barragan, junior in molecular & cellular biology from Olathe.

This award honors women-identified students in the sciences who have demonstrated academic excellence, involvement in campus activities, and leadership in their academic fields with a minimum GPA of 3.0.

Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett Woman Mentoring Women Award
Alexandra Erwin, doctoral student in ecology & evolutionary biology from Willard, Missouri.

This award honors a woman-identified student, staff or faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to supporting and mentoring KU women.

Ethel Bohning Single Mother Award
Felicia Patterson, senior pursuing a bachelor’s of general studies in liberal arts and sciences from Lawrence.

A single mother who is a full-time undergraduate student and has completed 30 credit hours.

Marlesa and Hannalesa Roney Student Success Award
Kaila Colyott, doctoral student in ecology & evolutionary biology from Machesney, Illinois.

This award honors a woman-identified graduate or undergraduate student who has contributed to the success of another student.

Outstanding Women Students in Athletics (group)
Allie Nelson, freshman, undecided; Tori Miller, junior, exercise science; Kayla Cheadle, junior, sport management; Jada Burse, freshman, undecided; Cassie Wait, senior, finance and law; Zoe Hill, freshman, accounting; Jacqui Mostrom, freshman, chemical engineering; Kelsi Payne, junior, communication studies; Tayler Soucie, senior, exercise science; Ainise Havili, junior, sport management; Ashley Smith, freshman, community health; Patricia Montero, freshman, sport management; Madison Rigdon, junior, exercise science; Maggie Anderson, senior, supply chain management; Addison Barry, junior, community health.

This award goes to woman-identified student(s) who, through their overall excellence as athletes and team members in KU athletics organizations, have contributed to the advancement of their sport and women’s athletics.

Alma Poehler Brook Award
Elise Wantling

Freshman, biology, St. Charles, Missouri.

Jalynn Tann

Freshman, business administration.

Since 1970 the Emily Taylor Center for Women and Gender Equity has honored a select group of women to be inducted into the Women’s Hall of Fame. The previously announced inductees for 2017, to be recognized at a reception at 5 p.m. today at the Adams Alumni Center, include Sarah Deer, Terry Hoyt Evans, Bernadette Gray-Little, Saralyn Reece Hardy, Colleen McCain Nelson, and Jan Bowen Sheldon, as well as Pioneer Woman award winner Lucille Bluford.


RT @kulifespan : KU research project awarded five-year CDC-funded grant to study youth violence in Kansas City Metro Area. @KUCommHealth ht…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today