Ursula Rothrock
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Geology professor wins education, teaching award

Mon, 04/07/2014

LAWRENCE – Robert Goldstein has won the annual geoscience education award from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), a professional organization representing 36,000 geoscientists in 129 countries. He is the University of Kansas associate dean for the natural sciences and mathematics and Haas Distinguished Professor in the Department of Geology.

Goldstein is just the third professor to receive the annual Professorial Award from the AAPG Foundation. The award goes to a professor who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the field of geoscience education. Goldstein will receive the award at the 2014 AAPG national meeting in April.

Goldstein was selected not only for his dedication to geoscience research but also for his commitment to inspiring students to become future geoscientists. Many of his students are successful professionals in the oil and gas industry, some have become professors, and others work for state and federal government agencies such as the Kansas Department Health & Environment and the Environmental Protection Agency.

“I’ve been a geology professor at the University of Kansas for 29 years, and I’ve truly loved teaching at all levels, from teaching freshmen in Introduction to Geology, to helping my graduate students succeed and training of professionals in the oil and gas industry. For me, teaching in the geosciences is all about helping students to think and see. It is incredibly rewarding work,” Goldstein said.

His research focuses on carbonate rocks, the group of sedimentary rocks containing more than half of the world’s oil. Goldstein has pioneered the fluid inclusion technique for determining the pressure, temperature and fluid chemistry of mineral precipitation. His research addresses fundamental scientific questions as well as research that directly applies to oil and gas exploration.

Goldstein has been a faculty member of the Department of Geology since 1985. He received his bachelor's degree in 1979 from Juniata College and received his master's degree in 1981 and doctorate in 1986, both from the University of Wisconsin.

The AAPG Foundation, established in 1967, aims to provide a source of funding for educational, charitable and scientific objectives, which directly and indirectly benefit the geologic profession and the general public.

The Department of Geology at the University of Kansas is part of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, which encourages learning without boundaries in its more than 50 departments, programs and centers. Through innovative research and teaching, the College emphasizes interdisciplinary education, global awareness and experiential learning. The College is KU's broadest, most diverse academic unit.

KU in the news
RT @kuengineering : KU researchers were awarded valuable time on a supercomputer to solve one of the “grand challenges” in developing the ne…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today