Jennifer Jackson Sanner
KU Alumni Association

KU to honor 48 seniors from Chautauqua, Cowley county high schools

Tue, 11/03/2015

LAWRENCE — Students from seven Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Nov. 11, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 48 seniors from high schools in Chautauqua and Cowley counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at Baden Square, 700 Gary, Winfield.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.

During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary and a commemorative certificate.

Lisa Pinamonti Kress, director of admissions at the University of Kansas, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Tamara Niles, of Arkansas City, is the Cowley County coordinator. Tim Hills, of Sedan, is the Chautauqua County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2016 scholars are:



Cedar Vale High School

Benjamin Call - Cedar Vale

Natalie Haden - Cedar Vale


Sedan High School

Levi Lowe - Sedan

Leah Steward - Sedan

Braylee Unruh - Peru




Arkansas City High School

Luis Altamirano - Arkansas City

Alexis Angel - Arkansas City

Brylee Burroughs - Arkansas City

Jack Deme - Arkansas City

Edgar Fuentes - Arkansas City

Patience Hallman - Arkansas City

Payton Hayes - Arkansas City

Regan Headrick - Arkansas City

Hannah Klaassen - Arkansas City

Luke Kuffler - Newkirk

Andy Marshall - Braman

Mason McDowell - Arkansas City

Jhoseline Mendez - Arkansas City

Glendy Ortiz Mendoza - Arkansas City

Katherine Salas - Winfield

Danielle Sorenson - Arkansas City

Ivy Sparlin - Arkansas City

Brailea Tipton - Arkansas City


Central High School

Bailee Ellis - Cedar Vale

Jordyn Foley - Burden

Rylee Liebau - Grenola

Saydi Loewer - Burden

Sandie Scott - Burden


Dexter High School

Joel Marker - Cambridge


Udall High School

Kelsie Hoffman - Udall

Derek Leiblie - Udall

Dalton Loos - Udall


Winfield High School

Abby Bertholf - Winfield

Cameron Dennett - Winfield

Sydney Fox - Winfield

Jared Harper - Winfield

Douangchay Hongphakdy - Winfield

Payten Humphreys - Winfield

Kaela Massey - Udall

Mallory Meier - Winfield

Riley Osen - Winfield

Kelsey Phillips - Winfield

Laura Podschun - Winfield

Megan Powell - Winfield

Tea Schmitt - Winfield

Hanna Wingett - Winfield

Lilya Woodburn - Winfield

Bronte Young - Winfield.

There’s nothing inherently wrong with being a competitor, says @KUSOEHS associate professor Jordan Bass, author of…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today