Political science department names top students, honors

Mon, 05/13/2013

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Political Science Department honored its top students at their Recognition Ceremony, with awards and induction into Pi Sigma Alpha on April 23 at the Adams Alumni Center.

Thirty-six students were inducted into the Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society. Criteria for induction include a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in all political science courses with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.4 for undergraduates.  For graduate students, the average must be at least 3.5. Neither may have a course grade lower than a B in any Political Science course.

These students were inducted:

  • Jeffrey Allton, junior from Overland Park
  • Jacklyn Baillergeon, junior from Lansing
  • Susan Bartlett, graduate student from Wamego
  • Aaron Boswell, senior from Wichita
  • Chelsie Bright, graduate student from Bucklin, Mo.
  • Brittnee Carter, graduate student from South Haven, Mich.
  • Tyler Childress, junior from Coffeyville
  • Ginger Feather, graduate student from Overland Park
  • William Galvin III, senior from Overland Park
  • Rachel Greenstein, senior from Overland Park
  • Amanda Gress, junior from Overland Park
  • Joel Haverkamp, junior from Hoyt
  • Erin Heckethorn, senior from Cheney
  • William Hentzler, junior from Topeka
  • Samuel Hofmeier, senior from Wichita
  • Jessica Jacob, junior from Prairie Village
  • Alex Johnson, junior from Wichita
  • Matthew Kasper, senior from Shawnee
  • Allison Kohn, senior from Overland Park
  • Johnathon Kupka, graduate student from Leavenworth
  • Michael Laverty, senior from Manassas, Va.
  • Emily Lubarsky, senior from Shawnee
  • Max Mays, junior from Lenexa
  • Christina Mohr, senior from Lawrence
  • Erich Nathe, senior from Naperville, Ill.
  • Brendan North, senior from Lenexa
  • Marveen Paransothy, senior from Petaling Jaya, Malysia
  • Saatvika Rai, graduate student from Bangalore, India
  • Justice Randolph, graduate student from Overland Park
  • Quinn Ried, junior from Cypress, Texas
  • Jason Robinett, senior from Olathe
  • Suhayla Sibaai,  senior from Wichita
  • Aimee Sommerville, junior from Edina, Minn.
  • Steven Torrente, graduate student from Lawrence
  • Laura Weaver, senior from Shawnee
  • Lidiya Zubytska, graduate student from Lawrence

The Political Science Department provides cash awards with no restrictions and scholarships that provide tuition assistance.  The awards and scholarships presented were:

The Ethan P. Allen Pi Sigma Alpha Award to outstanding graduating seniors majoring in political science.  The recipients are:

  • Danielle Onions, graduate student from Shawnee
  • Christina Mohr, senior from Lawrence
  • Shannon Collins, senior from Fairfax Station, Va.

 The Emmett L. Bennett Scholarship to an outstanding junior majoring in political science.  The recipient is:

  • Kira Alexander, junior from Mission
  • Kayelee Olinghouse, junior from Lane

The Eldon Fields Award to outstanding seniors majoring in political science. The recipients are:

  • Jacklyn Baillergeon, junior from Overland Park
  • Joshua Dean, senior from Overland Park
  • Kyle Patterson, senior from Andover
  • Kenneth Cochran, senior from Mission

The Elizabeth and Carl Gustafson Scholarships ranging from $250 to $2,000 to outstanding political science undergraduates.  The recipients are:

  • Jacklyn Baillergeon, junior from Overland Park
  • Tyler Childress, junior from Coffeyville
  • Mitchell Cota, junior from Overland Park
  • Joshua Dean, senior from Overland Park
  • Ciera Foreman, sophomore from Overland Park
  • Amanda Gress, junior from Overland Park
  • Alex Johnson, junior from Wichita
  • Brendan North, senior from Lenexa
  • Kyle Patterson, senior from Andover
  • James Wilson II, senior from Osage City

The Allan J. Cigler Academic Enrichment Award was presented in the amount of $ 1000.  This fund is made possible by former students of Cigler who wished to recognize him for his continued academic service. The recipient is:

  • Kyle Patterson, senior from Andover

The Political Science Future Military Leaders Scholarship is awarded twice a year to Political Science majors participating in ROTC.

This year the winners are:

  • Michael Laverty – Fall 2012
  • Alex Chartrand – Spring 2013
  • Hugh McConnell – Spring 2013

The Walter Thompson Scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $3,000, awarded to deserving political science students.  The recipients are:

  • Alex Johnson, junior from Wichita
  • Chelsie Bright, graduate student from Bucklin, Mo.
  • Brian Hanson, graduate student from Lawrence
  • Jacob Longaker, graduate student from DeSoto
  • Thomas Ringenberg, graduate student from Springfield, Mo.
  • Ben Rogers, graduate student from Maryville, Missouri
  • Josh Schukman, graduate student from Overland Park
  • Steven Sylvester, graduate student from Chico, Calif.

All of the scholarship funds are managed by KU Endowment, the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

Tears. Smiles. And hugs. That’s what Match Day brought as KU Medical Center’s first Salina class learned where they would go for their residencies — the next step in their medical training. See the Salina Journal’s report and photos: http://bit.ly/1HtAWbW Tags: #KUworks #KUmatch #Match2015 University of Kansas Medical Center Salina Journal KU School of Medicine-Wichita

Best thing about Kansas? The sunsets. Always. #exploreKU shot by umbrellaphoto on insta. http://t.co/KB7MhzkzDm
Lauded race and class historian becomes KU Foundation Professor David Roediger’s award-winning research and writing has already transformed how historians view the growth of social freedoms in America though the intersection of race, class, ethnicity, and labor. Now Roediger, as KU’s first Foundation Distinguished Professor of History (http://bit.ly/1AbAqYw), will continue to break new ground in those fields as he leads KU’s departments of American Studies and History. Roediger likes to study historical flash points — where one particular change brings a cascade of wider cultural changes. His latest book, “Seizing Freedom, Slave Emancipation and Liberty for All,” makes the point that as slaves began freeing themselves across the South during the Civil War, their emancipation inspired and ignited other cultural movements for freedom — such as the women’s movement for suffrage and the labor movement for better working conditions and an eight-hour day. Understanding the individual stories of average people who wanted to make their lives better, including slaves or factory workers, is important to understanding the wider political movements and elections, Roediger said. “It's tempting to think that all the important political questions have been decided,” he said, “but actually people are constantly thinking about what freedom would mean for them.”

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
46 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times