Anne Wallen
Office of Fellowships

KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter inducts 91 new members

Thu, 06/06/2013

LAWRENCE - The University of Kansas Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society has initiated 91 new members.

Robert Rowland, president of KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter and professor of communications, presided at the May 19 ceremony. Sara Thomas Rosen, senior vice provost for academic affairs, welcomed and congratulated the new initiates as they received their Phi Beta Kappa certificates.

Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, professor of psychology and director of the University Honors Program, was inducted as an honorary member of the chapter. She gave an address titled “Why the Liberal Arts?”

Joshua Dean, senior in economics, mathematics and political science, who was inducted last year, gave the student address.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa recognizes a student’s high academic achievement while pursuing a broad and substantive liberal arts curriculum. To be eligible for consideration for membership, students must have senior status and a minimum grade-point average of 3.65 on a 4.0 scale.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest national academic honorary society, was founded Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. KU’s Alpha chapter, founded in 1890, was the first chapter west of the Mississippi and is one of 280 Phi Beta Kappa chapters nationwide. About 10 percent of institutions of higher learning in the United States have Phi Beta Kappa chapters. Vice president of the KU chapter is Jeff Moran, professor of history. Secretary is Anne Wallen of the University Honors Program, and treasurer is Janet Riley, recently retired associate director of the budget office.

New members are as follows:

  • Brendan Allen, Lawrence
  • Sydney Andrew, Overland Park
  • Megan Andrews, Lawrence
  • Arthur Ankeney, Columbia, Mo.
  • Alex Applegate, Wichita
  • Marianne Beal, Lee’s Summit, Mo.
  • Marshall Beauchamp, Hutchinson
  • Tyler Beck, Andover
  • Heather Bergmann, Concordia
  • Joseph Bond, Pekin, Ill.
  • Paul Breer, Olathe
  • Sarah Bregman, Lawrence
  • Adrienne Brown, Olathe
  • Cynthia Brown, Garnett
  • Melanie Campbell, Lenexa
  • Alexandra Chase, Wichita
  • Tyler Childress, Coffeyville
  • Kelsey Cipolla, Tulsa, Okla.
  • Margaret Clark, Kirkwood, Mo.
  • David Collins, Chanute
  • Joel Coon, Topeka
  • Jenny Curatola, Lansing
  • Lianna Dang, Shawnee
  • Charlotte Davis, Overland Park
  • JoAnn Doll, Lawrence
  • Jenna Domann, Topeka
  • Glenn Dunne, Leawood
  • Sinclaire Erdwien, Manhattan
  • Bonnie Ewart-Fisher, Wichita
  • Kathryn Fankhauser, Topeka
  • Alexandra Free, Blue Springs, Mo.
  • Emily Frese, Council Grove
  • Joel Gilmore, Clay Center
  • Claire Gorey, Prospect, Ky.
  • Isaac Gwin, Cove, Ark.
  • Douglas Hamilton, Lawrence
  • Josie Harmon Kemp, Lawrence
  • Mitchell Harrison, Leawood
  • Elizabeth Hastings, Wichita
  • Isabella Herrera, Lawrence
  • Michelle Hill, Wichita
  • Samuel Hofmeier, Wichita
  • Ryan House, Salina
  • Diane Hughes, Manhattan
  • Margaret Hull, Lawrence
  • Rose Hull, Lawrence
  • Nathan Ideus, Lawrence
  • Nadia Imafidon, Lawrence
  • Elizabeth Jarvis, Shawnee
  • Taylor Johnson, Waterloo, Neb.
  • Alexis Knutsen, Overland Park
  • Tabitha Marcotte, Hays
  • Haley Miller, Kingman
  • Jordan Moore, Berryton
  • Matthew Moore, Wichita
  • Sondra Moore, Carbondale
  • Arianna Morgart, Topeka
  • Bernadette Myers, Prairie Village
  • Elizabeth Najim, Wichita
  • Tiffany Nguyen, Garden City
  • Daniel Nicholson, Lawrence
  • Erin O'Grady, Overland Park
  • Caroline Olson, Wichita
  • Pierce O'Neil, Overland Park
  • Danielle Onions, Shawnee
  • Samantha Oppenheimer, Leawood
  • Natalie Pak, Springfield Mo.
  • Kyle Patterson, Andover
  • Jacqueline Patton, Wichita
  • Jacob Peterson, Osage City
  • Emily Pinkston, Overland Park
  • Corbin Quick, Overland Park
  • Sydney Ragsdale, Prairie Village
  • Michael Raven, Hays
  • Alex Rippberger, Olathe
  • Alexandra Rose, Topeka
  • Alec Rothman, Brooklan, Mass.
  • Alexander Rouyanian, Overland Park
  • Lynn Schrag, Wichita
  • Madeline Schuman, Kansas City, Kan.
  • Sarah Shier, Salina
  • Stewart Simms, Shawnee
  • Kathryn Songer, Overland Park
  • Megan Watson, Overland Park
  • Laura Weaver, Shawnee
  • Benjamin Whitlow, Hutchinson
  • Seth Wiley, Topeka
  • John Worley, Columbia, Mo.
  • Ryan Xiao, Lenexa.



A @ku _philosophy prof, Brad Cokelet, and colleagues asked whether a philosophy class could change students' behavio…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today