Kyle Garcia
KU Continuing Education

Kansas Law Enforcement Center announces May graduates

Tue, 08/13/2013

YODER – Sedgwick County Sheriff Jeff Easter congratulated 52 new law enforcement officers during their graduation from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) Friday, May 24.

The new officers were members of the 223rd basic training class at the center. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Continuing Education.

The graduates, who began their training Feb. 18, represented 41 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in the 14-week basic training program. The center offered continuing education and specialized training to as many as 5,600 Kansas officers each year. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state’s general revenue are used to operate the center.

Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by county.

Barton County

Great Bend

Great Bend Police Department; Logan Hall; patrol officer


Hoisington Police Department; Alex Lomas; patrol officer

Bourbon County

Fort Scott

Fort Scott Police Department; James Birket; patrol officer

Butler County

El Dorado

Butler County Sheriff's Office; Randal Mason; deputy

Cherokee County


  • Cherokee County Sheriff's Office; Tina Blockburger; deputy
  • Cherokee County Sheriff's Office; Nicholas Irwin; deputy

Comanche County


Comanche County Sheriff's Department; Angela Brown; deputy

Cowley County


  • Winfield Police Department; Katasha Bledsoe; patrol officer
  • Cowley County Sheriff’s Department; Warner Richardson; deputy

Crawford County


Frontenac Police Department; Louis Bonner; patrol officer


Pittsburg Police Department; Stephen Aronhalt; patrol officer

Decatur County


Oberlin Police Department; Brad Messersmith; patrol officer

Dickinson County


Abilene Police Department; Matthew Badalucco; patrol officer

Doniphan County

White Cloud

Iowa Tribal Police Department; Robert Keller; patrol officer

Ellis County


Ellis Police Department; Emmett Casey; patrol officer


Fort Hays State University Police Department; Joshua Fleenor; patrol officer

Ford County

Dodge City

Dodge City Police Department; Bradley Machiela; patrol officer

Franklin County


Franklin County Sheriff's Office; Ryan Neiswender; deputy


Grandview Plaza

Grandview Plaza Police Department; John Lytle; patrol officer

Junction City

  • Junction City Police Department; Odette Johnson; patrol officer
  • Junction City Police Department; Adam Nicholson; patrol officer
  • Junction City Police Department; Troy Watson; patrol officer

Labette County


Oswego Police Department; Toby Wertz; patrol officer

Lane County


Lane County Sheriff’s Department; Justin Pierce; deputy

Leavenworth County


Lansing Police Department; Zachary Stamper; patrol officer


Leavenworth Police Department; Justin Elmer; patrol officer

Leavenworth Police Department; Trevor Harrison; patrol officer

Leavenworth County Sheriff’s Office; Zachariah Phillips; deputy

Leavenworth Police Department; Matthew Stawarz; patrol officer


Tonganoxie Police Department; Sarah Gumpert; patrol officer

Lyon County


Emporia Police Department; Tera Titus; deputy

Neosho County


Chanute Police Department; Harry Miller; patrol officer

Pawnee County


Pawnee County Sheriff's Office; Kelon Parr; deputy

Pratt County


  • Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism; Tracy Cikanek; natural resource officer
  • Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism; Jacob Coulter; natural resource officer; Pratt 

Russell County


Russell Police Department; Jordan Harrison; patrol officer

Riley County


  • Riley County Police Department; Timothy Jung; patrol officer
  • Riley County Police Department; Ondre Miles; patrol officer
  • Riley County Police Department; Bethany Patrick; patrol officer
  • Riley County Police Department; Jon Wood; patrol officer

Seward County


  • Liberal Police Department; Daisey Garcia; patrol officer
  • Liberal Police Department; Israel Nieves; patrol officer

Sedgwick-Sumner County


Mulvane Police Department; Steven Shields; patrol officer


Wellington Police Department; Joshua Meyer; patrol officer

Thomas County


  • Colby Police Department; Chelston Ketting; patrol officer
  • Thomas County Sheriff’s Office; Jonathon Schroeder; deputy

Wabaunsee County


Wabaunsee County Sheriff's Office; Kylor Kraus; deputy

Wyandotte County

Kansas City

  • Kansas City Kansas Community College Campus Police; Peter Gregory; patrol officer
  • Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Department; Michael Simmons; deputy
  • Kansas City Kansas Community College Campus Police; Cameron Roland; patrol officer.

RT @KUCollege : Contact with the criminal justice system negatively affects feelings of well-being, a recent study by @KUSPAA prof. Brandon…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today