Anne Wallen
Office of Fellowships

Phi Beta Kappa chapter inducts 98 new members

Mon, 06/09/2014

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society has initiated 98 new members.

Jeffrey Moran, president of KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter and professor of history, presided at the May 18 ceremony, immediately before university commencement. Laura Mielke, vice president of the chapter and professor of English, welcomed and congratulated the new initiates as they received their Phi Beta Kappa certificates.

Jonathan Earle, associate professor of history and director of the University Honors Program, was inducted as an honorary member of the chapter. He gave an address titled “Making College Work.”

Jenny Curatola, senior in English and global and international studies, who was inducted last year and earned a degree in theatre, gave the student address.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa recognizes a student’s high academic achievement while pursuing a broad and substantive liberal arts curriculum. To be eligible for consideration for membership, students must have senior status and a minimum grade-point average of 3.65 on a 4.0 scale. This year, 35 students were elected as juniors, and 63 as seniors.​

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest national academic honorary society, was founded Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. KU’s Alpha chapter, founded in 1890, was the first chapter west of the Mississippi and is one of 280 Phi Beta Kappa chapters nationwide. About 10 percent of institutions of higher learning in the United States have Phi Beta Kappa chapters. Secretary-Treasurer is Anne Wallen of the University Honors Program.

The students are listed below:

Elected as juniors:

  • Rabya Ahmed, Wichita
  • Matthew Bevens, Topeka
  • Allyson Bittner, Ottawa
  • Kendall Cole, Katy, Texas
  • Mitchell Cota, Overland Park
  • Logan Fancher, Fort Scott
  • Michael Garrett, Lenexa
  • Sarah Gerges, Leavenworth
  • Justina Gonzalez, Pittsburg
  • Amanda Gress, Overland Park
  • Catherine Gronniger, Topeka
  • Emma Halling, Elkhart, Indiana
  • Nadia Hamid, Lawrence
  • Allison Hammond, Overland Park
  • Virginia Helgeson, Olathe
  • Erin Ice, Lawrence
  • Sarah Larsen, Kearney, Nebraska
  • Kelly Lawlor, Lake Quivira
  • Claire Martin, Lenexa
  • Susan McClannahan, Prairie Village
  • Micah Melia, Prairie Village
  • Aaron Miller, Overland Park
  • Meaghan Palmer, Lenexa
  • Mitchell Pruett, Salina
  • Christina Ralston, Lenexa
  • Nicole Richardson, Silver Lake
  • Madison Schultz, Hays
  • Rachel Seitz, Hutchinson
  • Miles Simpson, Lake Quivira
  • Wayne Sloan, Baxter Springs
  • Elizabeth Tampke, Leawood
  • Sierra Upton, Manhattan
  • Kristina Van Anne, Lenexa
  • Anna Wenner, Topeka
  • Taylor Youtsey, Abilene

Elected as seniors:

  • Sarah Adair, Olathe
  • Michelle Arnold, Overland Park
  • Jacklyn Baillergeon, Lansing
  • Blaine Bengtson, Salina
  • Emily Beran, Claflin
  • Grant Berning, Shawnee
  • Margaret Biberstein, Manhattan
  • Margo Bogossian, El Paso, Texas
  • Seth Brooks, Lawrence
  • Andrea Brown, Leawood
  • Kelly Burke, Lake Forest, Illinois
  • John Camenzind, Wichita
  • Margaret Carmody, Omaha, Nebraska
  • Chloe Carroll, Bonner Springs
  • Christopher Carter, Lawrence
  • Carson Catalano, Sugar Land, Texas
  • Tasha Cerny, Salina
  • Julia Chasen, Olathe
  • Qi Chen, Overland Park
  • Stephanie Chen, Lawrence
  • Kyle Crooker, Leawood
  • William Dale, Topeka
  • Codi Ehrlich, Dodge City
  • Sarah Ekis, Overland Park
  • Sarah Franklin, Topeka
  • Bryne Gonzales, Topeka
  • Carli Gunnells, Hiawatha
  • Cheyenne Hansen, Turon
  • Erin Heckethorn, Cheney
  • Daniel Hilliard, Bonner Springs
  • Chelsea Hines, Goddard
  • Jeffrey Hoffman, Overland Park
  • Taylor Huhn, Overland Park
  • Steven Hutchinson, Wichita
  • Emerson James, Andover
  • Nicholas Kellum, Baxter Springs
  • Mary Lafferty, Fairway
  • Magdalene Lee, Lawrence
  • Maslyn Locke, Lawrence
  • Hannah Lujano, McPherson
  • Joshua Luthi, Overland Park
  • Patrick McGregor, Liberty, Missouri
  • Thomas Morrison, Lawrence
  • Hannah Myers, Hutchinson
  • Jon Nelson, Lawrence
  • Isaac Nichols, Topeka
  • Shayna Poole, Manhattan
  • Erica Rains, Gardner
  • Sydney Rayl, Salina
  • Hannah Schoeb, Leawood
  • Amy Sinclair, Wichita
  • Hannah Sitz, Andover
  • Autumn Smith, Lawrence
  • Katherine Stites, Lawrence
  • Autumn Stroble, Lawrence
  • Amanda Swanson, Erie, Colorado
  • William Tamblyn, Leawood
  • Laila Tawfik, Leawood
  • Sandra Tickles, Lenexa
  • Benjamin Voth, Topeka
  • Sean Weston, Pittsburgh
  • Alexandrea Yates, Olathe.

KU in the news
Next weekend, the @MusicKU Wind Ensemble and Jazz Ensemble I will perform at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today