Gloria Prothe
Department of Mathematics

KU Math Prize Competition winners announced

Wed, 04/29/2015

LAWRENCE— The University of Kansas Department of Mathematics held its 33rd annual KU Math Prize Competition earlier this month, providing undergraduates an opportunity to test their skills via a written exam that covers six questions to be completed within three hours. Cash awards were presented at the department’s honors banquet April 21.

The junior-level is open to all undergraduates of non-senior standing and assumes a knowledge of first-year calculus. The winners of the junior level:

First place: Christopher Mayo, a junior in mathematics from Clay Center.

Second place: Michael Zhou, a junior in mathematics and biomechanical engineering from Overland Park. Zhou also was the top first-year student.

Third place: Andrei Elliott, a junior in computer science and mathematics from Lawrence.

The senior-level is open to all undergraduates and covers a range of standard topics of undergraduate math. The winners of the senior level:

First place: Sean Holloway, a senior in electrical engineering from Mission.

Second place: Yujie Deng, a senior in computer science and mathematics from Wuhan, China.

Third place: Robert Winslow, a senior in computer engineering and mathematics from Olathe.

Hai Long Dao and Yasuyuki Kachi, associate professors of mathematics, were in charge of the competition.

KU in the news
The Wall Street JournalWed, 03/22/2023
RT @TechXplore _com: Research on #broadband in Kansas recommends statewide strategy to improve infrastructure @KUNews

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today