Jennifer Jackson Sanner
KU Alumni Association

KU to honor 32 high school seniors from Allen, Bourbon, Woodson counties

Thu, 01/28/2016

LAWRENCE — Students from six Kansas high schools will be honored Monday, Feb. 8, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 32 seniors from high schools in Allen, Bourbon and Woodson counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at Fort Scott High School, 1005 S. Main, Fort Scott.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.

During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary and a commemorative certificate.

Nathan Thomas, vice provost for diversity & equity at the University of Kansas, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Jim and Karen Gilpin, of Iola, are the site and Allen County coordinators. Gary and Sally Cullor, of Fort Scott, and Susy Hammons, of Pittsburg, are Bourbon County coordinators. Sharon Suske, of Yates Center, is the Woodson County coordinator.  Wade Park, of Iola, also volunteers at the program.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2016 scholars are:



Humboldt High School

Sarah Heisler - Humboldt

Bryce Isaac - Humboldt

Jadyn Maloney - Humboldt

Haylie Yost - Humboldt


Iola High School

Taylor Heslop - Iola

Clarie Moran - Iola

Sagar Patel - Iola

Mikaela Platt - Iola

Yohon Sinclair - Iola

Abigail Taylor - Iola

Brett Taylor - Iola

Clara Wicoff - Iola


Marmaton Valley High School

Keagan Boyd - Moran

Mackenzie Tynon - Moran




Fort Scott High School

Karleigh Arndt - Fort Scott

Kyley Brown - Fort Scott

Ashley Cook - Fort Scott

Kaleb DeLaTorre - Fort Scott

Abigail Denton - Fort Scott

Hannah Geneva - Fort Scott

Clare Gorman - Fort Scott

Katie Gorman - Fort Scott

Olivia Houston - Richards

Charlotte Hutchison - Fort Scott

Lily McCarter-Zimmerman - Fort Scott

Madeline McCoy - Fort Scott

Garrett Tatro - Fort Scott


Uniontown High School

Megan Blythe - Uniontown

Draven George - Ft. Scott

John Reed - Savonburg




Yates Center High School

Dustin Dyer - Toronto

Hayden Splechter - Yates Center.

KU in the news
#KUgrads , get ready to walk down the Hill!

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today