Jennifer Jackson Sanner
KU Alumni Association

* KU to honor 30 high school seniors from Barber, Harper, Kingman and Pratt counties

Wed, 03/30/2016

LAWRENCE — Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, April 6, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 30 seniors from high schools in Barber, Harper, Kingman and Pratt counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at First Christian Church, 300 South Main, Medicine Lodge.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.

During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary and a commemorative certificate.

Paul Buskirk, associate athletics director at KU, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Charles Holcomb, of Cunningham, is the Kingman County coordinator. Cindy Keller and Marcia Suiter, of Pratt, are the site and Pratt County coordinators. Bob Slinkard, of Medicine Lodge, is the Barber County coordinator. Ron Giesen, of Anthony, is the Harper County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2016 scholars:



Medicine Lodge High School

Malia Clouse - Medicine Lodge

Victoria Fagan - Medicine Lodge

Anne Hageman - Zenda

Karissa Leiker - Medicine Lodge


South Barber High School

Nicole Blick - Kiowa




Attica High School

Alec McDaniel - Attica

Brooke Ricke - Attica


Chaparral High School

Alison Blanchat - Danville

Jacob Cox - Anthony

Caitlin Dodgen - Anthony

Secret Permenter - Harper

Marissa Rucker - Attica

Lakin Whealy - Anthony




Cunningham High School

Andrea Vierthaler - Isabel


Kingman High School

Kathlynn Carter - Kingman

Andrew Cruz - Kingman

Allison DeWeese - Kingman

Paige Kelley - Kingman

Jacob Messenger - Kingman

Patrick Orr - Kingman

Jordan Thimesch - Kingman


Norwich High School

Derian Garrison - Norwich




Pratt High School

Bailey Batman - Pratt

Katie Buhler - Pratt

Emma Fowler - Pratt

Destani Garten - Pratt

Samantha Harrison - St. John

Eadie Monaghan - Pratt


Skyline High School

Betsy Giles - Byers

Colin Kumberg – Pratt.

KU in the news
DiscoverMon, 05/21/2018
They worked hard. They challenged themselves. Now, they’ve made it. Congratulations to KU’s Class of 2018! (CC)…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today