Anne Wallen
University Honors Program

KU's Phi Beta Kappa Chapter inducts 125 new members

Tue, 07/11/2017

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society has initiated 125 new members.

Laura Mielke, president of KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter and professor of English, presided at the May 14 ceremony immediately before university commencement. Meagan Patterson, vice president of the chapter and professor of educational psychology, welcomed and congratulated the new initiates as they received their Phi Beta Kappa certificates.

Carl Lejuez, dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, was inducted as an honorary member of the chapter. He gave an address titled “Failing Up.”

Ike Uri, senior in sociology, who was inducted last year as a junior and served as the student president, gave the student response address.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa recognizes a student’s high academic achievement while pursuing a broad and substantive liberal arts curriculum, including language study. To be eligible for consideration for membership, most students must have senior status and a minimum grade-point average of 3.65 on a 4.0 scale. Students elected as juniors must have a 3.8 grade-point average.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest national academic honorary society, was founded Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. KU’s Alpha chapter, founded in 1890, was the first chapter west of the Mississippi and is one of 286 Phi Beta Kappa chapters nationwide. About 10 percent of institutions of higher learning in the United States have Phi Beta Kappa chapters. Secretary-Treasurer of the KU Chapter is Anne Wallen of the University Honors Program, and historian is David Slusky of economics.


William Admussen, junior, Urbandale, Iowa
Michael Arnold, junior, Ontario, Ohio
Taylor Avery, junior, Sioux City, Iowa
Suhaib Bajwa, junior, Overland Park
Mario Balcazar, junior, La Paz, Bolivia
Julia Balmaceda, junior, Lenexa
Katherine Bandle, junior, Lawrence
Ellen Bertels, junior, Overland Park
Rebekah Burgweger, junior, De Soto
McKenzie Butcher, junior, Topeka
Andrew Doerflinger, junior, Prairie Village
Madeline DuBois, junior, Nebraska City, Nebraska
Matthew Dunn, junior, Overland Park
Elizabeth Fentress, junior, Caney
Alice Finley-Pyle, junior, Dodge City
Rachel Forbach, junior, Leavenworth
Kaitlyn Foster, junior, McLouth
Alexander Gabrielli, junior, Shawnee
Susanna Geiger, junior, Abilene
Taylor George, junior, Scott City
Eilish Gibson, junior, Perry
Elizabeth Gray, junior, Prairie Village
Mackenzie Haun, junior, Overland Park
Jamie Holdeman, junior, Omaha, Nebraska
Morgan Hopson, junior, Wichita
Zora Jenney, junior, Wichita
Dalton Jorns, junior, Lenexa
Parker Kempin, junior, Olathe
Frank Kim, junior, Junction City
Jeannette Larson, junior, Leavenworth
En Ning Leow, junior, George Town, Malaysia
Danielle London, junior, Leawood
Chance Maginness, junior, Westmoreland
Garrison Matthews, junior, Overland Park
Rachael McCormick, junior, Broomfield, Colorado
Meghan McNamee, junior, Topeka
Miranda Mendiola Valdez, junior, Lima, Peru
Katherin Morales, junior, Emporia
Emma Murrugarra, junior, Kansas City, Kansas
Ami Nanavaty, junior, Overland Park
Alison Oatsdean, junior, Wichita
Jamie Parrott, junior, Belle Plaine
Urmi Patel, junior, Topeka
Megan Peat, junior, Lenexa
Anneliese Reinert, junior, Lindsborg
Emily Reno, junior, Lawrence
Carla RivasD'Amico, junior, Lee's Summit, Missouri
Toni Rufledt, junior, Weston, Wisconsin
Kelly Rummerfield, junior, Overland Park
Sandra Sanchez, junior, Olathe
Robert Santamarina, junior, Overland Park
Aubrie Schartz, junior, Abilene
Leah Schneider, junior, Lincoln
Jay Shah, junior, Overland Park
Ariel Silverman, junior, Overland Park
James Tandy, junior, Independence, Missouri
Christopher Watkins, junior, Fairway
Helen Wehner, junior, Leawood
Holden Zimmerman, junior, Lawrence

Chloe Adams, senior, Shawnee
Zaara Baig, senior, Leawood
Emily Bell, senior, Lawrence
Clara Bernauer, senior, Leawood
Sarah Bromley, senior, Prairie Village
Matthias Bryson, senior, Lawrence
Jesse Burbank, senior, Topeka
Liia Butler, senior, Lee's Summit, Missouri
Victoria Calderon, senior, Liberal
Laura Carlson, senior, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Madeline Caywood, senior, Lawrence
Subarna Chowdhury, senior, Overland Park
Centennial Clogston, senior, Wildwood, Missouri
Matthew Clough, senior, Wichita
Katherine Conard, senior, Lawrence
Michael Cory, senior, Wichita
Brett Doze, senior, Syracuse
Brittany Dozier, senior, Trimble, Missouri
Sophia Fortmeyer, senior, Fairview
Jack Foster, senior, Lansing
Anna-Therese Fowler, senior, Leawood
Megan Fox, senior, Wichita
Katherine Fragen, senior, Walnut Creek, California
Lindsey Freihoff, senior, Overland Park
Jared Friesen, senior, Inman
Aurelie Gagnet, senior, Lawrence
William Gunderson, senior, Wichita
Juliana Hacker, senior, Lawrence
Colleen Hagan, senior, St. Louis
Samantha Harms, senior, Lansing
Evan Harris, senior, Leavenworth
Megan Hawkinson, senior, Wichita
Francesca Haynes, senior, Overland Park
Sarah Herman, senior, Overland Park
Emily Hoffman, senior, Canon City, Colorado
Shegufta Huma, senior, Bel Aire
Elizabeth James, senior, Overland Park
Alex Kaechele, senior, Spring Hill
Emily Kaplan, senior, Overland Park
Aadil Khan, senior, Overland Park
Megan Knoff, senior, Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Alexander Langley, senior, Grand Junction, Colorado
Jackson Laughlin, senior, Castle Rock, Colorado
Madeline Level, senior, Andover
Jessica Lovett, senior, Sedgwick
McKinzey Manes, senior, Overland Park
Brenna Marshall, senior, Laramie, Wyoming
Derek Martin, senior, Conway Springs
Ellen Nasseri, senior, Topeka
Kacy Nienstedt, senior, Leawood
Madison Nigus, senior, St. Joseph, Missouri
Danielle Peterson, senior, Wichita
Reece Petty, senior, Stanley
Adeline Pommer, senior, Boulder, Colorado
Megan Reschke, senior, High Ridge, Missouri
Edward Rivera, senior, Dodge City
Robert Sagastume, senior, Independence
Danielle Schablitsky, senior, Aurora, Colorado
Addison Schauer, senior, Topeka
Juliana Siegler, senior, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Adam Steinhilber, senior, Leawood
Adeline Tungate, senior, Cota de Caza, California
Kassandra Valles, senior, Mission
Jonathan Volkin, senior, Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Tymon Wall, senior, Winfield
Ariane Wright, senior, Olathe.


KU in the news
RT @RealSullySays : Pizza joint in TX: "Rock Chalk!" TX Fan-KS people are taking over this restaurant" Me-We are taking over the 🌎! ❤️💙…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today