Jason Levy
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center graduates 263rd basic training class

Wed, 03/11/2020

YODER — Twenty-three new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on March 6.

Derrick Crisenbery of the Hays Police Department was the graduating class president, and Winfield Chief of Police Robbie DeLong was the speaker for the ceremony in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium. 

Class president Derrick Crisenbery holds the class donation with KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck.The new officers were members of the 263rd basic training class. The graduates, who began their training in November 2019, represented 18 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

During the ceremony, class president Crisenbery presented KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck with a check for $800 that will go toward projects like the maintenance and upkeep of the KLETC Wall of Honor, which is a memorial to KLETC graduates that have fallen in the line of duty.

“KLETC uses its endowment funds to support important initiatives such as the Wall of Honor or The Protector statue,” Beck said. “We even hope at some point to be able to offer scholarships through these funds.”

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, KLETC trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. KLETC offers continuing education and specialized training to more than 10,000 Kansas officers each year. KLETC is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of University of Kansas Professional & Continuing Education.

Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by county and agency:

Chase County

  • Eric Townsdin, Chase County Sheriff’s Office

Cowley County

  • Emma Davis, Winfield Police Department

Ellis County

  • Derrick Crisenbery, Hays Police Department
  • Mason Seery, Hays Police Department

Finney County

  • Derek Schmidt, Holcomb Police Department

Ford County

  • Jared Hays, Dodge City Police Department

Franklin County

  • Dakota Freeman, Ottawa Police Department

Harvey County

  • Lanna Lynn Sinead Rommel, Harvey County Sheriff’s Office

McPherson County

  • Kaleb Siemers, McPherson Police Department

Miami County

  • Timothy Hill, Paola Police Department

Pratt County

  • Bradley Niemann, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism
  • Andrew Page, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, & Tourism

Reno County

  • Taylor Grace, Hutchinson Police Department

Rush County

  • Dakota Colhouer, Rush County Sheriff’s Office

Sedgwick County

  • Joseph Gosch, Park City Police Department​
  • Emily Kindel, Derby Police Department
  • Wyatt Pulver, Wichita State University Police Department

Seward County

  • Kalyn Abare, Liberal Police Department
  • Nathan Brennon, Liberal Police Department

Sumner County

  • Tyler Rickstrew, Sumner County Sheriff’s Office

Washington County

  • Nicholas L’Ecuyer, Washington County Sheriff’s Office

Wilson County

  • Shawn Petty, Neodesha Police Department

Woodson County

  • Dalton Rorabaugh, Woodson County Sheriff’s Office

Learn more about the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.

Top photo: The 263rd Basic Training Class, led by class president Derrick Crisenbery, recites the Code of Ethics affirmation during the basic training graduation at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center.

Right photo: Class president Derrick Crisenbery holds the class donation with KLETC Executive Director Darin Beck.

In “One for the Coyotes,” former @fox4kc broadcaster & @KUJournalism lecturer @bigalwallacekc shares stories from c…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today