William Staples
Department of Sociology

Sociology department announces spring awards

Tue, 06/19/2018

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas sociology students recently received awards and scholarships for outstanding academic achievements in two department ceremonies. 

During the 26th annual awards dinner last month, graduate students received awards and scholarships totaling $13,773.

Departmental graduate awards included the following honors:

The E. Jackson Baur Award for Research and Study of Social Conflict and Its Resolution honors a KU professor emeritus of sociology. The award is given to support research, professional travel or manuscript preparation and recognizes scholarly accomplishment. The 2018 award recipient is Amilee Turner, political science.

The Carroll D. Clark Award for Professional Service and Carroll D. Clark Award for Teaching Excellence honor a KU professor emeritus of sociology. The award recognizes outstanding service contributions of sociology graduate students to the department, university and/or profession of sociology. The 2018 award recipient is Pamela Rooks.

Carroll D. Clark Pre- and Post-MA Awards reward those graduate students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship and integrity and show promise in the discipline of sociology. The 2018 award recipients are Matthew Comi (pre-MA) and Lukas Szrot (post-MA).

Morris C. Pratt Research and Travel Scholarships honor a longtime supporter of the discipline of sociology and advocate for social justice. The scholarships provide for research and/or travel expenses related to the presentation of master’s or doctoral work at or participation in a professional conference in the area of social inequality. The 2018 recipients are Erin Adamson, Matthew Erickson and Andrew Kim.

During the undergraduate ceremony, eight undergraduate students were inducted into the Alpha Kappa Delta international sociology honor society. They are Megan Abel, Paola Guadalupe Alor, Megan Bartley, Ciara Taylor Cavitt, Ellie Nicole Depre and Abby Detrich.

The Distinguished Achievement Award was given to Yu Kyung Lee and Matthew McReynolds.

Candidates for graduation with highest distinction were Yu Kyung Lee and Toni Elizabeth Rufledt.

Founded in 1891, KU’s Department of Sociology is the oldest academic sociology program in the United States.

KU in the news
The Wall Street JournalSat, 10/23/2021
Researchers at @JuniperGrdensKU & @KUMedCenter have a received a new $345K grant to further study “Stay, Play, Talk…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today