Gloria Prothe
Department of Mathematics

Winners announced for KU Math Prize Competition

Fri, 04/23/2021

LAWRENCE – The 38th Annual KU Math Prize Competition, sponsored by the Department of Mathematics, was held virtually April 2. Open to all KU undergraduates, the written exam for each level covered six questions to be completed in three hours. Cash awards were given in two levels.

The junior level was open to all undergraduates of non-senior standing and assumes a knowledge of first-year calculus. The winners of the junior level:

First place: Teerapat Saengsubin, a freshman in mathematics from Thailand. Saengsubin also was the top first-year student.

Second place: Drake Clark, a junior in mathematics and computer engineering from Lenexa.  

Third place: Matthew Hunt, a freshman in mathematics and physics from Kechi.

The senior-level is open to all undergraduates and covers a range of standard topics of undergraduate math. The winners of the senior level:

First place: Jonathan Downs, a senior in mathematics and computer science from Leavenworth.  

Second place: Jonah Berggren, a senior in mathematics from Lenexa.

Hailong Dao, professor of mathematics, and Dionyssis Mantzavinos, associate professor of mathematics, were in charge of the competition.

There’s nothing inherently wrong with being a competitor, says @KUSOEHS associate professor Jordan Bass, author of…

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today