Lisa Coble-Krings
Department of Theatre & Dance

KU theatre design student earns spot at national Kennedy Center festival

Mon, 03/20/2023

Kennedy Center festival regional programs with names of KU honorees.

LAWRENCE — The Department of Theatre & Dance at the University of Kansas has announced that the following students have earned awards and recognition from the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival, Region V. Almost all of the work was part of actualized productions of KU’s University Theatre.

National awards

Lindsay Webster with tall multi-photo display for her costume design work.Lindsay Webster, a third-year MFA in scenography student from Novi, Michigan, won a first place national award for costume design for "The Labyrinth of Desire," work which qualified her for national competition this spring in Washington, D.C. Additionally, she earned a second place national award for scenic design, also for "The Labyrinth of Desire." This is the second year in a row Webster has represented the university in costume design on a national level.

Other honors

Taiane Lacerda, a second-year MFA student from Florianópolis, Brazil, earned the Don Childs DTM Cross-Discipline Collaboration Award for "Into the Woods" and "A Midsummer Night’s Dream," both of which were part of her summer internship taken for course credit. Hazel Youngquist, a senior in theatre performance from Perry, won the Jane Childs DTM Legacy Award for First-Time Presenters for his work on the University Theatre’s production of "Everybody."

Regional commendations

Some of the theatre & dance department’s students and faculty received commendations, all tied to KU’s production of "Everybody." Youngquist was honored for lighting design and Lacerda for scenic design. Rana Esfandiary, assistant professor of design & technology, was honored for costume design. Doctoral candidate Timmia Hearn DeRoy, of Lawrence, was honored for direction, and the "Everybody" cast was recognized for ensemble performance.

“The students’ growth was evident within the first days of attending the conference. They had the chance to receive feedback about their work, attend workshops and network. This opportunity helped them find focus for their future,” said Kelly Vogel, academic associate and resident artist in the department. “As their professor, this is one of my favorite experiences with the students.”

The KCACTF-Region V annual conference and awards took place in January 2023 in Des Moines, Iowa. Region V includes Kansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. At various times during 2022, representatives of KCACTF came to Lawrence to judge the submitted plays and provide responses.

The University Theatre and University Dance Company are production wings of the University of Kansas’s Department of Theatre & Dance, offering five to six public productions throughout the academic year. The University Theatre and University Dance Company productions are funded in part by KU Student Senate fees, and the theatre’s season is supported by Truity Credit Union.   

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today