KU welcomed into National Academy of Inventors

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas has been named a member of the National Academy of Inventors, officials recently announced.

The National Academy of Inventors is a nonprofit member organization created to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.

Joining KU in this year’s class of new members are Idaho State University, Louisiana State University, the Vaccine and Gene Therapy Institute of Florida, and Yale University.

“It’s a great honor to be accepted into the National Academy of Inventors,” said Julie Goonewardene, president of KU Innovation & Collaboration and associate vice chancellor innovation and entrepreneurship. “This recognition speaks volumes about the great work we’re doing in making discoveries at KU and translating them into real-word products, cures and solutions.”

In FY 2013, KU received 82 invention disclosures, filed 143 patents and was issued 37 U.S. patents. In 2012, KU research at all campuses exceeded $275 million, a new record for the university.

“We are honored to have KU join us as a Charter Member Institution of the National Academy of Inventors," said Paul Sanberg, president of the National Academy of Inventors and senior vice president for Research & Innovation at the University of South Florida. "As our newest member institution, KU joins an elite group of universities and research institutes that recognize and encourage a culture of invention, innovation and entrepreneurship at their institutions. We look forward to working with them and to welcoming KU’s inventors to our annual conference next spring at the USPTO."

Thu, 11/07/2013


Joe Monaco

Media Contacts

Joe Monaco

KU Office of Public Affairs