KU recognizes outstanding instructors with annual teaching awards

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas faculty members from the Lawrence and KU Medical Center campuses are being recognized as winners of annual teaching awards.

These outstanding faculty will be honored at the inaugural University Teaching Awards ceremony Nov. 7 at the Kansas Union. An invitation to this event will be sent to all KU faculty and staff in the coming days.

This year’s teaching award winners are listed below.

Lawrence Campus

Trevor Rivers, assistant teaching professor in the Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, has been named the winner of the Bob & Kathie Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes career/specialty faculty.

Ann Rowland, associate professor of English, is the recipient of the Ned Fleming Trust Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Kent Spreckelmeyer, professor of architecture, is the recipient of the Chancellors Club Career Teaching Award.

KU Medical Center

Four faculty members at KU Medical Center will receive the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Awards. The recipients are Dorothy Hughes, assistant professor in the Department of Population Health and assistant dean of student affairs at the Salina campus; Stephen Jernigan, associate professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science & Athletic Training; Albert Buddy Poje, professor in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences; and Jo Wick, professor in the Department of Biostatistics & Data Science.

Jeff Radel, associate professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy Education and associate dean for academic and student affairs, is the winner of the Chancellors Club Teaching Professorship.

In addition to the abovementioned winners, the university will recognize soon-to-be-announced winners of the William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence at the Nov. 7 event.

Thu, 09/14/2023


Joe Monaco

Media Contacts

Joe Monaco

KU Office of Public Affairs