KU Kudos: Jayhawk faculty and staff achievements, November 2023

LAWRENCE — It's time to celebrate Jayhawk colleagues' achievements: KU News Service staff accepted submissions and combed websites, social media and newsletters for recent external honors and awards for current faculty and staff at the Lawrence, Edwards and Medical Center campuses and affiliates.

KU Kudos is published six times a year. Have something to share? Submit by Jan. 10, 2024, for the next edition. Self-nominations are encouraged, with more information available here.

Kent Bradley, clinical professor and vice chair of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at the School of Medicine-Wichita, has been elected as the American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists District VII secretary/ program chair. Melissa Hague, assistant clinical professor of obstetrics & gynecology, has been elected the American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists District VII treasurer. She previously served as the secretary/program chair.

Kathryn Conrad, professor of English, has been named to the board of advisers for Harvard University metaLAB’s AI Pedagogy Project.

Teri Finneman, associate professor of journalism, recently discussed The Eudora Times on a panel about news deserts at the National Press Club. Finneman also attended a reception at the White House that included a welcome from Jill Biden during the Presidential Sites Summit. Finneman also presented her research in progress about media coverage of First Lady Frances Cleveland at the American Journalism Historians Association conference.

Scott Hanrath, KU Libraries Associate Dean of Research and Engagement, has been selected as a 2023-24 Leadership Fellow by the Association of Research Libraries. The ARL program for senior and executive leaders includes a 13-month hybrid experience. Read more.

Stephen Jackson, assistant professor of educational leadership & policy studies, has received the 2023 Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award from the American Historical Association.

Quincy Johnson, assistant professor in the Department of Health, Sport & Exercise Sciences, was awarded the Outstanding Young Alumni Award from his alma mater Midland University for professional achievement and founding their reigning national championship powerlifting team.

Margaret Kelley, professor of American studies, recently received the Senior Scholar Award from the American Sociological Association’s Section on Drugs and Society.

Marni Kessler, professor of the history of art, recently presented at the Cleveland Museum of Art's virtual symposium, Picturing Women at Work in the 19th Century. Kessler presented a paper titled “The Air that They Breathed: Thinking Ecocritically about Degas’s Laundresses.”

Patricia Kluding, chair of the Department of Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science & Athletic Training, participated in "Evidence Elevates," an educator town hall from the Academy of Neurologic Physical Therapy's Moving Forward Task Force. 

Rémy Lequesne, Stanley T. and Phyllis W. Rolfe Chair’s Council Associate Professor in the School of Engineering, was elected a fellow of the American Concrete Institute.

LaVerne Manos, clinical associate professor at the Center for Health Informatics, was appointed to the State of Kansas Health Information Technology (HIT) Advisory Council.

Paul Popiel, professor of music, was recently invited to participate in the 2023 Global Leadership Network on Higher Education in Music, a prestigious event sponsored by UNESCO, the China Conservatory of Music and the Global Music Education League in Beijing.  

Jennifer Raff, associate professor of anthropology, received a Phi Beta Kappa book award for science for her 2022 book, “Origin: A Genetic History of the Americas.”

Raúl Rojas, professor in the Department of Speech-Language-Hearing: Sciences and Disorders, has been name an advisory board member for the Woolfolk Center for Language Disorders Research at the University of Texas at Austin. Rojas also was selected as an editor for the Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, the flagship journal of the American-Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

Benjamin Rosenthal, associate professor of visual art, received the $20,000 Juried Prize for Digital Art in the 2023 ArtPrize competition.

Rebekka Schlichting, assistant professor of the practice in journalism, was a distinguished speaker at the Eurasia 3rd World Conference on Humanities, Social Sciences. She presented "Reporting in Third World Spaces with Obscure, Inconsistent and Absent Data.”

Paul Scott, professor of French, was elected as a fellow of the Royal Asiatic Society, in recognition of research on South Korean science fiction.

Sean Joseph Smith, professor of special education, was recently elected the president of the National Down Syndrome Congress (NDSC). The NDSC is the largest international organization focused on the service of individuals with Down syndrome and their families.  

Kyle Velte, professor of law, was an invited panelist for a program affiliated with the annual Richard J. Childress Memorial Lecture, hosted by the Saint Louis University Law Journal. The Oct. 27 event focused on LGBT rights and the law. Velte was also recently recognized as a community CARE champion at the 2023 Show Up for Survivors event hosted by the Sexual Trauma and Abuse Care Center, which serves Douglas, Franklin and Jefferson counties.

Belinda Venters, KU Medical Center-Wichita public affairs director, received a 2023 Wichita Business Journal Marketing Award.