KU Undergraduate Ethics Bowl Team concludes successful fall semester

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Undergraduate Ethics Bowl Team, based in the Department of Philosophy, achieved notable success in its second year. Competing at the Rocky Mountain Region Ethics Bowl hosted by the Colorado School of Mines on Nov. 11, the team secured a third-place overall. Noteworthy victories were against the University of Arizona, University of Colorado-Boulder and Colorado School of Mines.

Experiencing substantial growth since its inception, the team's members not participating in the in-person event engaged in the virtual regional ethics bowl competition Dec. 2. All four team members in this tournament were first-time participants, competing against Harvard University, the University of Maryland-Baltimore County and the College of William and Mary.

Founder and current head coach Ryan Lemasters, doctoral student in philosophy, said that the Ethics Bowl transcends conventional perceptions of philosophy, offering students a dynamic platform for collaborative analysis of real-world scenarios, fostering ethical exploration and engagement.

Lemasters noted the unwavering dedication of the philosophy department to imparting rigorous ethical training to shape future leaders.

"The Department of Philosophy, along with its graduate students, is deeply committed to furnishing robust ethical training for the students poised to become tomorrow's leaders,” Lemasters said. “KU can take great pride in these exceptional individuals."

For undergraduates interested in joining the KU Ethics Bowl Team in spring 2024, contact Lemasters at ryan.lemasters@ku.edu.

"We eagerly welcome highly motivated students who are enthusiastic about engaging in ethical analysis,” he said.

Top right photo: Pictured at the Rocky Mountain Region Competition are, from left, Owen Miller, Drew Hanson, Weston Curnow, Erik Dains and Connor Marshall, with team coach Ryan Lemasters.

Bottom right photo: Virtual competition participants, from left, are Jack Benkelman, Jocelyn Ellis, Estrella Hernandez and Kathleen Chia with Ryan Lemasters, team coach.

Tue, 12/05/2023


Ryan Lemasters

Media Contacts

Ryan Lemasters

Department of Philosophy