KU Kudos: Jayhawk faculty and staff achievements, January 2024

LAWRENCE — It's time to celebrate Jayhawk colleagues' achievements: KU News Service staff accepted submissions and combed websites, social media and newsletters for recent external honors and awards for current faculty and staff at the Lawrence, Edwards and Medical Center campuses and affiliates.

KU Kudos is published six times a year. Have something to share? Submit by March 1 for the next edition. Self-nominations are encouraged, with more information available here.

Alice Bean, University Distinguished Professor of Physics, and Georgios Krintiras, postdoctoral researcher, were selected as Large Hadron Collider Physics Center Distinguished Researchers for 2024. 

Courtney Fletcher, assistant professor of voice, recently received the West Central Region National Association of Teachers of Singing Artist Award. She qualified to compete in the semifinal and finals hosted during the NATS Winter Workshop in early January 2024.

Donna Ginther’s research and work on postdocs was recognized as a Breakthrough of the Year by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the publisher of the Science journals. Ginther is the Roy A. Roberts & Regents Distinguished Professor of Economics and director of the Institute for Policy & Social Research.

Angela Gist-Mackey, associate professor of communication studies, received the 2023 Service Engagement Award from the National Communication Association's Organizational Communication division. Throughout her career, she has partnered with nonprofits, unemployment agencies, recovery programs, multicultural centers, professional development organizations, financial literacy programs and more.

Melissa Hague, clinical associate professor of medicine at the School of Medicine-Wichita, was elected as the American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists District VII treasurer. She recently assumed the office at the ACOG Annual District Meeting in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Carol Holstead, associate professor of journalism, recently judged the design, photography and illustration categories of the National Magazine Awards, the most prestigious awards for magazines.

Joshua Homan, lecturer in anthropology, received the Center for a Public Anthropology’s Franz Boas’ Global Citizenship Award in recognition of Homan's “exceptionally effective” participation in Public Anthropology’s Community Action Online Project, as well as for his commitment to teaching. Fewer than 1% anthropology instructors across North America receive the award. 

Jennifer Klemp, co-leader of The University of Kansas Cancer Center’s Cancer Prevention and Control research program, has been appointed to the Centers for Disease Control Prevention Advisory Committee on Breast Cancer in Young Women.

Liz Koziol, assistant research professor for the Kansas Biological Survey & Center for Ecological Research, was awarded the Women in Science Incentive Prize from The Story Exchange.

Stella Markou, associate professor of voice and opera, was a recipient of an American Prize for Opera Production and Direction. Markou received the Charles Nelson Reilly Prize (2023) in the College/University Smaller Division for Directing.

Mario Medina, director of KU Medical Center's Sponsored Programs Administration, accepted the position of vice chair of the National Council of Research Administration Select Committee on Peer Review, which oversees this nationally recognized program.

Lisa Mische Lawson, professor of occupational therapy education, received the Distinguished Fellow Award from the American Therapeutic Recreation Association. This honor is the highest recognition award given by the association.

Amanda Mollet, assistant professor of educational leadership & policy studies, has been selected to serve as vice president of volunteer leadership for the American College Personnel Association –College Student Educators International leadership council.

Ajay Nangia, professor of urologic surgery, has been awarded the Presidential Citation from the American Urological Association for important contributions to the field of male reproductive medicine and surgery. 

Jamie Noble, director of the nuclear medicine technology program in the School of Health Professions, was selected to serve as the national council delegate for the Missouri Valley chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging. 

Alex Platt’s paper on origins of SEC was listed as one of the top 10 most downloaded recent administrative law papers. Platt is an associate professor of law.

Career and outreach coordinator Steve Rottinghaus presented "All Aboard the Careers Services Train!" at the Kansas Association of Colleges and Employers annual conference Dec. 1 in Wichita. He also received the 2023 KACE outstanding committee member award for coordinating the summer drive-in conference for career advisers across the state in July at Stauffer-Flint Hall.

Tarun Sabarwal, professor of economics, was invited to give research seminars at Southern Methodist University,  Texas A&M University, the University of Oregon and the University of Texas at Dallas in 2023. Sabarwal presented ongoing research on multiagent interdependent interactions with coordination incentives.

Hyunjin Seo, Oscar Stauffer Chair and professor of journalism, gave a presentation on the Center for Digital Inclusion project aimed at developing sustainable ecosystems for technology education for justice-involved communities at the National Science Foundation Awardee Meeting on Dec. 6 in Arlington, Virginia.

Kim Templeton, professor of orthopedic surgery & sports medicine, was elected treasurer of the Orthopaedic Medical Education Grants Association

Hong Vu, associate professor of journalism, was invited to join the editorial board of Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly as a member.

Jack Zhang, assistant professor political sciences, was named to the National Committee on United States-China Relations' Public Intellectuals Program. The program identifies next-generation American China specialists who have the interest and potential to venture outside of academia or their professions into areas relevant to foreign policy and public education.  

Recently in the news

Brian McClendon, research professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, was named to the 2023 Class of Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors.

Kelly Matsunaga, assistant curator of paleobotany and Thomas N. Taylor Assistant Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation.

Past editions of KU Kudos

November 2023

September 2023

Summer 2023.