KU Libraries name 2024 Rubinstein/Mason Award recipients

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas Libraries have named Katherine Bryan and Connor Reazin recipients of the 2024 Rubinstein/Mason Award. The scholarship supports current and former KU students in graduate study in librarianship and archival studies in honor of the late Joseph Rubinstein and the late Alexandra Mason, commemorating their years of principled service as KU librarians. 

“It is incredibly inspiring to read the students’ applications — to see what has led them to become interested in the field and what they want to accomplish through a career in libraries,” said Elspeth Healey, special collections curator at Kenneth Spencer Research Library and chair of the award committee. “So many of them are motivated by a desire to preserve information, make it more accessible and serve communities that have been underserved in the past.” 

Bryan, a 2024 graduate from Lake Elmo, Minnesota, has worked as a collections inventory specialist for the History of Black Writing Project at Watson Library for the past two years — a role that inspired her to pursue further studies in library science. 

“The position has taught me a great deal about myself and my professional aspirations,” Bryan said of her work. “I've developed a deep appreciation for the importance of both digital and physical preservation. Being a part of a team dedicated to preserving and promoting Black literary heritage has been truly fulfilling, and I value the opportunity to contribute to such meaningful work.” 

Bryan will pursue a master’s degree in library science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the fall.  

Reazin, a 2022 graduate from Wichita, worked with KU Libraries in public services and media preservation in audiovisual conservation at Spencer Research Library. His work in Spencer’s Audio-Visual Preservation Lab and mentorship from KU librarians sparked his interest in library career paths and a passion for both preserving and expanding access to materials.  

“KU Libraries taught me a lot, but none so much as my own passion and dedication toward libraries,” Reazin said. “I am excited to become an active contributor to librarianship and to help the mission of preservation and accessibility in whatever way I can.” 

Reazin will attend Indiana University Indianapolis to pursue his master’s in library science with special interest in digital librarianship and archival studies. 

The Rubinstein/Mason award is made possible by private funds and managed by KU Endowment. Rubinstein was the first head of KU Libraries' Department of Special Collections, and Mason was a Distinguished Librarian at KU from 1957 until she retired in 1999. 

Fri, 06/21/2024


Wendy Conover

Media Contacts

Wendy Conover

KU Libraries