KU Kudos: Read about recent faculty, staff honors at the University of Kansas

LAWRENCE — For the second edition of KU Kudos, KU News Service accepted submissions and combed websites, social media and newsletters for recent external honors and awards for current Jayhawk faculty and staff at the Lawrence, Edwards and Medical Center campuses. Have something to share? Submit by Feb. 22 for the next edition. Self-nominations are encouraged, with more information available here.

Raj Bhala, Brenneisen Distinguished Professor of Law, is a featured speaker for a Feb. 10-11 virtual conference on dispute settlement hosted by India’s Center for Trade and Investment Law. Bhala will speak alongside India's minister of commerce and industry.

William Collins, associate professor of civil engineering, will deliver the 2022 Robert J. Dexter Memorial Award Lecture. The honoree is selected by Steel Bridge Task Force of the American Iron and Steel Institute, the National Steel Bridge Alliance and the American Association of State and Highway Transportation Officials T-14 Technical Committee for Structural Steel Design. Collins will present a lecture Aug. 11 in Philadelphia.

Vaibhav Diwanji, assistant professor of journalism & mass communications, is program chair for the South Asian Media and Cultural Studies annual international conference, taking place Feb. 10-11.

Melissa Greene-Blye, assistant professor of journalism & mass communications, was a panelist for an Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication web series. Greene-Blye spoke on “Not Business as Usual: Mitigating the Impact of the Pandemic on Women and BIPOC Scholars” 

Amanda Mollet, assistant professor of educational leadership & policy studies, was selected by American College Personnel Association-College Student Educators International as a 2022 Association Award Recipient in the Emerging Scholar category. 

Samuel Ofei-Dodoo, assistant professor of family & community medicine, has been appointed to serve on the Annals of Family Medicines’ board of directors as the representative of the North America Primary Care Research Group. 

Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, professor of mathematics, courtesy professor of aerospace engineering and electrical engineering & computer science, and Chancellors Club Teaching Professor, has been appointed to the Association of Women in Mathematics-American Mathematical Society Noether Lecture Selection Committee for a term of two years. Pasik-Duncan was named to the 2021 Class of Fellows for the AWM and received the AWM’s Louise Hay Award.

Angie Pastorek, program director and faculty member for graduate programs in organizational communication for the KU Edwards Campus, received the Outstanding Teaching Award from the organizational communication division of the National Communication Association.

Tiffany Schwasinger-Schmidt, assistant professor of internal medicine and director of Center for Clinical Research, Wichita campus, was honored by the Wichita Business Journal as one of the Women Who Lead in Health Care. 

The National Park Typeface, first created by design chair Jeremy Shellhorn, associate professor of design, and students in his Design Outside Studio in 2018, is being added to Google Fonts. Google provided an $18,000 grant to help expand and enhance the typeface. It is currently being developed by Andrea Herstowski, associate professor of design and associate dean, and recent visual communication design graduate Ben Hoepner. It is scheduled to be available on Google Fonts this spring.

Mark Shiflett, KU Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering, along with doctoral student Kalin Baca and industry mentor Jeremy Patt, participated in the NSF I-Corps Fall 2021 cohort hosted by I-Corps NYCRIN as team Iconium. They performed over 100 interviews for customer discovery within the refrigerants market and won the I-Corps spirit award.

Steven Soper, KU Foundation Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Chemistry, received the 2022 Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry, which is an international award recognizing significant contributions to the field. He was recognized for his work with single molecule detection by laser-induced fluorescence and development of microchip technology for automated, highly miniaturized analysis systems. 

Giselle Anatol, professor of English; Christy McWard, executive director of communications & advancement for KU Libraries; and Emily Ryan, director of The Commons, are serving on the board of directors for the Paper Plains Literary Festival, which will take place April 8-9 at Liberty Hall.

Brian Rosenblum, co-director of the Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities, received a Fulbright Specialist Award. He is leading a six-week course in the English department at the University of Ghana, consulting on student and faculty projects and strengthening connections between the university and KU.

Fri, 02/11/2022


Media Contacts

Erinn Barcomb-Peterson

KU News Service